A Veterans Day Interview

In honor of the veterans of the United States of America, this is an interview with my grandfather on his service in the U.S. Army.IMG_0001

What years did you serve in the U.S. military?

I went in the Army May 1961.

What branch did you serve in?

I went in the Army May 1961.

Did you serve in any war?

I was not in any wars, I was in the Army between the Korean and Viet Nam wars.

Where did you attend basic training?

Basic training for two months at Fort Knox, Kentucky.

Why did you decide to join the military?

It was the Patriotic thing to do

Briefly describe your military experience.

After basic training, I was assigned to Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri for Eight weeks of truck driving school. I was Honor Graduate of about 250 men who attended this school. In Basic Training I fired Expert with my M1 Rifle This is the Highest score you can Attain. A lot of the Targets were 500 Meters away. On February 1967 after Six Year Military Obligation I was Honorably Discharged from the Army of the United States.

What did you like most about serving in the military?

I learned team work, how to get along with people and Responsibility.

IMGWhat was your biggest takeaway from military service?

I have a lot of respect for the people who serve and protect our freedom.

What impact did your decision have on your family?

While I was stationed at Fort Leonard Wood, Missouri our first child (Marilyn) was born. I wanted to go home for a couple of weeks, But the Army would not allow me.

Are there any interesting or funny stories from your time in the military?

One night on Patrol I fell and hurt my arm and was not able to do my job, and wanted to go home for a while to be with my Wife and new baby. They got a hold of my Commanding Officer and they agreed to give me a Ten day leave.

What was the biggest scare during your service?

This was when the cold war was going on with Russia, they were putting Missiles in Cuba and we sent the Navy out to block the Russian ships going to Cuba with a load of Missiles. The Russian ships turned around and headed back to Russia with the Missiles. We came very close to a Nuclear war.

On a scale of one to ten (best to worst), how hard was your military training?

The bad time was Basic Training, After that it was like a Job driving truck.

What other life lessons did you learn from military service?

I learned Responsibility, Respect for people also to be a team person.

 

Leave a Reply

